Erlanger Logo

Midlevel Female Reproductive Providers

Certified Nurse-Midwives

Today's Certified Nurse-Midwife (CNM) is a professional health care provider and a Registered Nurse (RN) who has graduated from one of more than forty-four advanced education programs accredited by the American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM). Certified Nurse-Midwives must pass a national certification examination and meet strict requirements set by state agencies.

Specially trained to attend women during labor and delivery, Certified Nurse-Midwives are experienced in prenatal, postpartum, normal newborn care, and routine gynecological care. Boasting a centuries-old tradition of attending women in safe deliveries of babies, they combine their legacy of skills with the advances and technology of modern medicine.

Certified Nurse-Midwives offer family oriented, safe, personalized health care, helping healthy women in prenatal care and delivery, normal gynecological services, family planning and care of peri and post menopausal women.

Physician Assistant

Physician assistants are health care professional licensed to practice medicine with physician supervision. PA's employed by the federal government are credentialed to practice. As part of their comprehensive responsibilities, PA's conduct physical exams, diagnose and treat illnesses, order and interpret tests, counsel on preventive health care, assist in surgery, and in most states can write prescriptions.

PA's are trained in intensive education programs accredited by the Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant (ARC-PA).

Because of the close working relationship the PA's are educated in the medical model designed to complement physician training. Upon graduation, physician assistants take a national certification examination developed by the National Commission on Certification of PA's in conjunction with the National Board of Medical Examiners. To maintain their national certification, PA's must log one hundred hours of continuing medical education every two years and sit for a recertification every six years. Graduation from an accredited physician assistance program and passage of the national certifying exam are required for state licensure.

Bethany Rockwood, Physician Assistant